At Turbo3 we are passionate about the world of turbo and all its derivatives, competition is one of our great disciplines. Garrett turbos and Garrett technology have been powering the victors of the 24 Hours of Le Mans for 21 years. While this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans looked a bit different with no fans present due to COVID-19 precautions, one thing remained constant: Garrett’s world-class turbocharger technology propelled the winning team to victory. for the 21st year in a row, an achievement thanks to Garrett Turbos technology.

Toyota Gazoo Racing’s # 8 TS050 hybrid race car, driven by Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima, crossed the finish line first at Le Mans 2020, marking the team’s third consecutive year of dominance in the world’s most famous drag racing event. In third place was the # 7 Toyota Gazoo Racing car, also turbocharged by Garrett, driven by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José María López.

Cars # 7 and # 8 are powered by Toyota’s 2.4L V6 biturbo gasoline hybrid powertrain, capable of generating more than 1,000 horsepower, with the ultralight Garrett turbo with advanced ball bearing technology, increasing engine performance and acceleration needed to ensure victory. The turbo system was designed from the ground up to withstand the pressure and unique wear and tear created by an endurance race as grueling as the Le Mans 24.

For more than two decades, Garrett Turbos have supported each winning team at Le Mans with industry-leading technology and engineering expertise, continually evolving strategy and improving products to meet the ever-increasing challenges drivers face. in this endurance event.

This is Garrett’s list of winning teams at Le Mans:

  • TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (2018, 2019, 2020)
  • Porsche LMP Team (2017)
  • Porsche Team (2015, 2016)
  • Audi Sport North America (2007, 2008, 2010)
  • Peugeot Sport Total (2009)
  • ADT Champion Racing (2005)
  • Audi Sport Japan Team Goh (2004)
  • Team Bentley (2003)
  • Audi Sport Team Joest (2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014)

Garrett Turbos and all the technology behind it makes them leaders in the category of heavy duty Turbos for both daily use and high competition.

Historical curiosities of Le Mans

Do you want to know all the fun facts about Le Mans? We bring you the curiosities of one of the great endurance races. Did you know that …?

  • The first edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans was held in 1923.
  • The highest average speed was 251.815 km / h on a lap at Le Mans. It was achieved by Hans-Joachim Stuck in 1985 with the Porsche 962 during qualifying.
  • The driver with the most Le Mans wins is Tom Kristensen with nine wins. Jacky Ickx follows with six wins.
  • The fastest lap in the first edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans had an average speed of 107.3 km / h.
  • 407 km / h was the highest speed reached at Le Mans by Roger Dorchy in a WM P88 in 1988.
  • 59 vehicles participate in this edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, breaking with the superior participation of previous years.
  • In 1930, only 17 participating cars competed at Le Mans, being the edition with the lowest registration.
  • Since its creation, it has only been canceled 10 times (1936 and the period between 1940-1948). This year, due to COVID-19, it will be held in September and without an audience.
  • The biggest difference between the first and the second occurs in 1927. The distance was almost 350 kilometers.
  • The best historical result of a brand is signed by Porsche. In 1983 eight Porsche finished in the top eight positions.
  • The longest race distance was achieved in 2010 after 397 laps. The total distance was 5410,713 kilometers.
  • The country with the most drivers in the 24 Hours of Le Mans has been France. Great Britain and the United States follow.
  • 3,475 drivers have participated in the legendary Le Mans race, but only 137 drivers have won
  • The only drivers who have won a Formula 1 World Championship and who have also won at Le Mans have been Phil Hill (3), Graham Hill (1), Jochen Rindt (1), Mike Hawthom (1) and Fernando Alonso (1).
  • 37 Spanish drivers have taken part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.).
  • The only two Spanish riders who have achieved an absolute victory at Le Mans have been Marc Gené (2009) and Fernando Alonso (2018 and 2019).
  • The driver who has competed the most at Le Mans has been Henri Pescarolo (33), ten of them with his team. He won 4 of them.
  • Porsche is the manufacturer with the most wins in the 24 Hours of Le Mans with 19 wins. Audi remains at 13 victories.